Chelsi's Educational Musings

Hello world!

Posted on: May 18, 2010

Hello world!  My name is Chelsi, and I am a 27 year old teacher from Regina who is currently enrolled in the Masters program through the University of Regina.  In this blog, you will find my responses to a series of modules and discussion questions proposed by my professor, Steven Kemp, for my EC&I 834 class.  This is my third class in my pursuit of my Masters in the Education Curriculum and Instruction program, and I am really enjoying the courses thus far.  This is my first online course, and I am thoroughly enjoying it as well!

In June, I will finish my fifth year of teaching.  The time has flown by, and I have been very busy with my career!  This is the first year that I have taught the same grade, as I have been moved all over the grade spectrum, teaching Arts Education to 800 K-8 students in two schools during my first year, then teaching grade 4, 4/5, and now 6.  I have had some students in my classroom for three years in a row, so needless to say, I am constantly trying to plan and invent new ideas!  I have found that using technology in my lessons is a huge motivator for the students, as they are always absorbed in the content when on the computer, and they are so confident being online that it is so beneficial to see them using their technology skills with success.

Teaching and doing my Masters keeps me very busy, but I DO still have time to enjoy life, even if I don’t sleep that much!  If you would like to learn more about me, please visit my other blog, devoted entirely to planning my upcoming wedding.

I look forward to reading your comments (if you’re so inclined to make some!) in regards to the use of technology in the classroom and operating online classes.

Leave a Reply

